Postcode Project Intro

One of the main tasks for my Level 2 photography course is The Postcode Project.

According to course guidelines, there are two purposes of this assignment. The first is to “explore urban photography”. The second, to “use a camera to explore a theme & aesthetic & creative opportunities that location photography can offer”.

Ok… now for the brief…

The first task was to find where I live on an A-Z map. Then all the photographs for this assignment must be taken with the area defined by the double page on which I live.

Easy, I thought. Went to my bookshelf. Ahhh… think I chucked out my last paper A-Z about five years ago. Realised that I now usually look up locations & routes on the internet. So, I made a trip to the local library in Hampton Hill high street, but the only paper A-Z was A4-sized & each page covered quite a large area. Took a photo copy anyway, but I thought I’d have to narrow down the range. However, was glad I made the visit. Finally got round to joining the library after many years of ‘meaning to’.

My other challenge is that half way between the start of the project & completion is I’ll be moving house. As my planned destination isn’t too far from where I am now, I decided the best option is to focus on the area between both locations.

Back in the comfort of my current home, I looked up to the two postcodes on http://www.streetmap.co.uk and this is the result:

PostcodeProjectAZ

Hmmm, a nice mix of very familiar streets & open spaces, plus a few unknowns – this will be interesting. Having lived in the area for over eight years, it’s an opportunity to get a different perspective on what’s been under my nose for all that time. Plus, I’ll have a reason to explore my new domicile environment more closely.

Over the last few years, I have taken a lot of photos locally, but the most of these were with either my mobile phone (as below) or the compact camera (the featured image above).

 

With regards to the Nikon D5500 DSLR I’m now using, the majority of local photos I took with it were in Bushy Park, St James’ Cemetery or in my back garden. Am very much looking forward to seeing how my increasing knowledge & ability in using this camera will transfer into images. It will be useful revisiting the older pictures & seeing how they compare with my new ones.

Now, more for what’s required with regards to images, all in response to the project’s title:

Task 1: Depth of Field, Selective Focus – present a series of three images using Depth of Field and/or selective focus

Task 2: Shutter Speed – present a series of three images using slow or fast shutter techniques

Task 3: Final Take – present a series of five images using photographic techniques I’ve chosen myself, allowing for my creative input in any photographic application

All straightforward, let’s get on with it!

Criteria ref: 1.2

One thought on “Postcode Project Intro

Leave a comment